Publication Date: April 16, 2015​

Genre: Paranormal Horror/Thriller

202 pages/46,000 words


Previously published as The Nightmare Collection in November 2012

Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection

A legend awakens…


A monster hunts us. After hibernating for a decade, it’s ravenous. We long to stop this nightmare, but the end of the road is far. There is no waking up once a legend sets its sights on you.


Disappearances every ten or so years make little impact on the small town of New Haven, Virginia. Hikers get lost. Hunters lose the trail. Even when a body is discovered, the inhabitants’ memories last about as long as the newspaper articles.No one connects the cases. No one notices the disappearances go back beyond Civil War times. No one believes a legendary monster roams the forests in Southwestern Virginia.


I don’t either until the truck breaks down on an old mountain trail. Cell phones won’t work in this neck of the woods. It’s amazing how much a person can see by starlight alone. So what if we can’t feel our fingers or toes as we hike toward the main road. How many more miles left to go?




Hear that noise?


The collection includes the novellas Once upon a December Nightmare and Nightmare Ever After and the short story "Good Nightmare, Scary Monster."


"... great character development... and a lot of suspense."

- Medeia Sharif, author of 52 Likes


"... a fantastic set of stories!"

- Julie Flanders, author of Polar Night


"... has a definite X-Files feel."

- Christine Rains, author of Of Blood and Sorrow

Release Date: December 9, 2014

Genre: Epic Fantasy

274 pages/80,000 words

People of Foxwick and Their Neighbors

The kingdom hangs within the balance.


War threatens Foxwick on all sides.


The dreaded Shadowlands gains more souls. From the shrouded trees in Greymist Forest to the arid Blackden Barrens, monsters roam in search of their next victim. Sirens lure ships beneath Merrilea Sea. In cold and snowy Wintermill, royals plot to claim Foxwick as their own, even if they must use dragons and sorcery. Marriage between Foxwick’s king and Lochhollow’s princess creates a perilous alliance. Although brave Valdale will come to Foxwick’s aid, the cost may be more than a true friend can stomach.


Set over a hundred years, these seventeen fantasy short stories explore the people, creatures, and lands in and around the Kingdom of Foxwick.


Short stories in the collection include Common Love, Blind Scribe, Lady Bard, Siren’s Call, Dragon’s Sacrifice, Tribal Abandonment, Dragon Spy, Dragon Seer, Sword Master, Lady Death, Mage Game, Courting Magic, Monster Hunger, Mourner’s Lament, Magic Seeker, Prince’s Price, and Love’s Challenge.


"A must read for fantasy fans."

- Christine Rains, author of The 13th Floor series


"Every story was a treat."

- M. Pax, author of The Rifters series

Want an autographed book?


Once upon a Nightmare: A Collection.....................$9.00

People of Foxwick and Their Neighbors.................$10.00

Gravity: The Complete Trilogy...................................$3.00

The Nightmare Collection...........................................$3.00

The Best of Raven and the Writing Desk................$3.00

Contact me about payment,
who you want the book signed to,
and where to mail your copy.

Free shipping available if you are in the US.

Otherwise, we can discuss additional payment for shipping costs if you live outside the US.